Home: Wee Update – Ideas Being Played With.

What a few weeks it has been since I last popped on and updated Bloomin Elle.  I now have a shiny new MacBook which is a great investment for me in paying back into my creative making with a computer that works (for one!) and can allow me to make films, music, images and all sorts with ease.  Granted, I have “learn to do these things” on my to do list still, but I am getting there!

I spent the weekend back in Pembrokeshire with my Ma last weekend and going “Home” has never been more poignant or potent.  Returning with a different outlook on how I wanted to spend my time took me to some interesting, emotional and creative places.  As a child and young adult I spent much time out in the fields, on beaches and by the sea (as I have mentioned in previous posts exploring this connection) and this time was no different. Being in the home my Dad built – with his writing still on the walls – memories of time there together are often hard to avoid in the solitude and space of sleepy Pembrokeshire.  Completing my daily writing was challenging as emotions surfaced, but simply being with these emotions I found great strength and connection to a creative force that was ready to be unleashed.  I spent time walking by the sea, and have documented this through sound recordings, and gathered a range of found objects that I am now beginning to play with as beginning sources.  It would be nigh on impossible to document everything that came to mind, every idea and tangent found over those days, but I shall pop a little of the documentation here to, again, document the journey that this project is taking me on.

I am in the first of three weeks I have set aside to play with these ideas…. and I can already see that “Home” is baring much inspiring fruit and am excited about the whole host of avenues to be explored.  You may be able to tell… Research, ideas and explorations are feeling a bit like a big ball of crazy coloured wool at the moment.  The sifting process to draw out threads and focus I am eager to start soon.  It certainly is quite something to sit with the cacophony of creative ideas and not run scared for not having any of the ends (to stick with the wool analogy) tied up yet.

Here is one experiment from found objects at home in Pembs.  Making something new out of the every day.  Baby Bell cases and jam jar lid…  I enjoyed the process of looking at things around me with different eyes, the fact that the materials were free (bonus!) and the process of ‘cooking’ the wax and seeing what happened.  The water bubbles in the final set wax (from the dripping bowl) I really liked. They offered little portals into the words underneath the wax.  This jar lid happened to be the first that came to hand, and I found the words interesting and relevant.  The idea that companies, brands, are focused on the “home made” culture/vibe/aesthetic/approach even when they are huge organisations with very little homely about them.  We feel secure, safe when we are made to feel at home.  We like to have things around us as a “reminder of home” and this psychology can often be manipulated.   It made me think of the aisles and aisles of “home cooked” microwave meals for one, cottage pies, lasagnes, pies, that lie in supermarkets everywhere and how the mirror a losing of a sense of do it yourself community and slow living.  A reality of the time being catered to as “convenience”, but for who, really?

So, back to the playing…

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

