old papery makings

 

 

I came across a few old books of my Dad’s from the 70s that I have been loving cutting up and remaking into images. I have also been inspired by my co-studioer, Lucy Barfoot, with her use of repetitive shape images and found myself mindlessly, and happily cutting these droplet shapes from the pages of an old flower arranging book. The paper quality is so thick and grainy, and the images to wonderfully cheesy and tacky, dissecting them into the rhythmic ” Waltzing” (images 1 and 2) really focused me on the enjoyment of process of just having a play and seeing what happens.

As in true Bloomin Elle style, none of these things are really finished images… I’m just enjoying where the exploration takes me.

Leave a Reply

